2011 Blues Blast Music Award Nominees Announced: Buddy Guy, Nick Moss, Eden Brent, Karen Lovely, Sugar Prophets, & More

Voting is free and opens in July; here are your nominees!
  |   Comments

2011 Blues Blast Music Awards

Nominations for the 2011 Blues Blast Music Awards have been announced and many of the names from the 2011 Blues Music Awards are nominated here as well. It's up to you to decide if the results will be the same.

Buddy Guy is once again nominated multiple times and with the October awards ceremony being held at his club, Legends, it's hard to imagine he's not going to win more hardware. Beyond Guy, we have names like Nick Moss, Eden Brent, Karen Lovely, Charlie Musselwhite, Magic Slim, Robin Rogers, Bob Corritore and more from the BMA nominees. We've also got names like Damon Fowler, The Sugar Prophets, Reverend Raven And The Chain Smoking Altar Boys, and Trampled Under Foot who weren't part of that list, mostly because of eligibility date differences between Blues Blast and the Blues Foundation.

Voting to determine the winners begins July 1, 2011 and continues until August 31st, 2011 on the BluesBlast web site. Voting is open to anyone who is a Blues Blast Magazine subscriber. Subscriptions are FREE and you are automatically signed up as part of the voting process on our website.

I'll let you peruse the 2011 Blues Blast Music Award Nominees before I weigh in with my vote and predictions.

Contemporary Blues CD

  • Robin Rogers - Back In The Fire
  • Eddie Turner - Miracles & Demons
  • John Németh - Name The Day
  • Damon Fowler - Devil Got His Way
  • JP Soars - More Bees With Honey
  • Buddy Guy - Living Proof
  • Traditional Blues CD

  • Bob Corritore & Friends (Koko Taylor, Little Milton, Pinetop Perkins & others) - Harmonica Blues
  • Studebaker John's Maxwell Street Kings - That's the Way You Do
  • Charlie Musselwhite - The Well
  • Rich Del Grosso & Jonn Del Toro Richardson - Time Slips By
  • Pinetop Perkins & Willie "Big Eyes" Smith - Joined At The Hip
  • Magic Slim - Raising The Bar
  • Song Of The Year

  • "Shake Your Boogie" by Big Joe Williams from Reverend Raven And The Chain Smoking Altar Boys - Shake Your Boogie
  • "Still the Rain" by Dennis Walker/Alan Mirikitani from Still The Rain- Karen Lovely
  • "Living Proof" by Tom Hambridge/Buddy Guy from Buddy Guy - Living Proof
  • "Don't Walk Away Run" by Chuck Glass from Robin Rogers - Back In The Fire
  • "The Well" by Charlie Musselwhite from Charlie Musselwhite - The Well
  • "Almost A Memory" by Wayne Russell from Reba Russell Band - 8
  • New Artist Debut Release

  • The Sugar Prophets - The Sugar Prophets
  • Chris O'Leary Band - Mr. Used to Be
  • Rob Blaine - Big Otis Blues
  • Vincent Hayes Project - Reclamation
  • Matt Hill - On The Floor
  • Peter Parcek  - Mathematics of Love
  • Male Blues Artist

  • John Németh
  • Kenny Neal
  • Tad Robinson
  • Magic Slim
  • Nick Moss
  • Buddy Guy
  • Female Blues Artist

  • Teeny Tucker
  • Robin Rogers
  • Reba Russell
  • Eden Brent
  • Karen Lovely
  • Janiva Magness
  • Blues Band

  • Magic Slim & The Teardrops
  • Nick Moss Band
  • Reverend Raven And The Chain Smoking Altar Boys
  • Derek Trucks Band
  • Trampled Under Foot
  • Reba Russell Band
  • Sean Costello Rising Star Award

  • Gina Sicilia
  • Damon Fowler
  • Matt Hill
  • Trampled Under Foot
  • Joanne Shaw Taylor
  • Vincent Hayes Project