Black Keys Release 'El Camino' Dec. 6; First Single "Lonely Boy" Available Oct. 26

Grammy-winners Black Keys return with the follow-up to Brothers...
  |   Comments

The Black Keys - El Camino - December 6

The Black Keys are ready to release the follow-up to their Grammy-winning smash Brothers when they release El Camino on December 6 and fans who pre-order the record will get a download of the first single “Lonely Boy” on Oct. 26.

The Black Keys rise from lo-fi, indie blues-rockers from Akron, Ohio to a megaselling act is one of the most surprising and inspiring in recent memory. The music industry has exalted many pretenders but this time success found a tremendously talented band with a deep catalog. If you happen to be one of the newcomers, first of all, welcome. Second, I can’t encourage you enough to get your copy of Rubber Factory if you haven’t already. You’ll be glad you did.

Such an incredible journey isn’t lost on Carney, “We’ve taken the long road to get where we are. It’s pretty cool to be in your early 30s making music with your best friend. We’ve experienced everything from driving a thousand miles to play for no one to winning Grammys.”

The new set was produced by the band and Danger Mouse, who helmed the Attack & Release album. It was recorded in Auerbach’s new studio in Nashville, where the band now call home.

The rise in popularity and expansion of the band’s sound has alienated some of the “cool kids” and caused a tinge of backlash, but this might be a record that welcomes some of them back or pacifies them in spite of themselves.

I think where this record is going to shine for me is playing the songs live," said Auerbach. “This record is more straight ahead rock and roll- raw, driving, and back to basics.”

I’ve enjoyed all the dynamics of the Keys’ sound and can happily sit down with any of their records. I did miss just a little the rawness of their early records on these past two, which is why it’s a good thing I bought those previous disc. If they’re ready to rock out again, I’m ready to hear it.

Here’s the complete tracklisting for El Camino:

  1. Lonely Boy
  2. Dead and Gone
  3. Gold on the Ceiling
  4. Little Black Submarines
  5. Money Maker
  6. Run Right Back
  7. Sister
  8. Hell of a Season
  9. Stop Stop
  10. Nova Baby
  11. Mind Eraser