Jack White Announces Solo Debut "Blunderbuss" Due Apr. 24; Video For First Single "Love Interruption" Unveiled

Former White Stripe main man readies first solo album...
  |   Comments

Jack White - Blunderbuss - April 24

Jack White continues to be the hardest working man in the music business, launching numerous hit bands and collaboration. The former White Stripes main man is turning the attention to himself when he launches his debut solo record Blunderbuss via his own Third Man label on April 24.

He recently released the first single, "Love Interruption," from the upcoming 13-track set via iTunes, Amazon, and other digital outlets and has now unveiled the complete tracklisting and artwork for the new set.

"Love Interruption" is a moody piece with acoustic guitar and electric piano providing the majority of the instrumentation with White singing a duet with Nashville singer Ruby Amanfu. It's a bit of a bleak, dour little number lyrically as Jack sings of "murder my own mother," "leave me dying on the ground," and wanting love to "stick a knife inside me, and twist it all around me." There's a big happy for you, right?

The big, squalling guitars and barely competent banging of Meg that was the foundation of The Stripes is absent on this one but it's a good tune with White's typically minimalist production. I'm very excited to hear the other 12 tunes in two months.

We don't have a lot of other details but White plays nearly every imaginable instrument so while there may be some guest appearances (like that from Amanfu), I'd expect this to be very much a solitary affair from our fearless hero. Keep checking back to BlindedBySound and we will keep you posted. In the meantime, here is the complete tracklisting For Jack White's Blunderbuss as well as the video for "Love Interruption."

Complete Blunderbuss Tracklisting

  1. "Missing Pieces"
  2. "Sixteen Saltines"
  3. "Freedom At 21"
  4. "Love Interruption"
  5. "Blunderbuss"
  6. "Hypocritical Kiss"
  7. "Weep Themselves To Sleep"
  8. "I’m Shakin’"
  9. "Trash Tongue Talker"
  10. "Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy"
  11. "I Guess I Should Go to Sleep"
  12. "On And On And On"
  13. "Take Me With You When You Go"