Moreland & Arbuckle Release 'Just A Dream' Aug. 23

Blues-roots duo followup 'Flood' with 12-track effort...
  |   Comments

Moreland & Arbuckle - Just A DreamAaron Moreland and Dustin Arbuckle will release Just A Dream, the followup to their 2010 release Flood on Telarc records.

Moreland & Arbuckle toured extensively for 15 months following the release of Flood and had a new approach in mind when they returned to the studio.

"Everything we've done in the past was set up in one big room and recorded in a couple days," said guitarist Moreland. "On this record, we spent far more time and our quality control was far more stringent than it's ever been."

Moreland assures fans the grit and rawness of previous records is still part of the sound, but pushed forward and presented better by the more intensive recording process.

Among the 12-tracks on the record are a version of Tom Waits' "Heartattack and Vine," a song that has long been part of their live shows. They also get assist an assist from Memphis stalwart Steve Cropper, who wrote the track "White Lightnin'" and adds his distinctive guitar to the mix.

"The version Steve sent us on demo was kind of a slow blues tune," Moreland said. "Our version is about 45 miles an hour faster than the original, but it's a good tune regardless of how it's played."

The veteran duo still feels like they're discovering what they can be and do as they prepare to release this new record, with many avenues left to explore and you can bet you'll see them on the road, all over the world, playing in rooms both big and small.

  1. The Brown Bomber
  2. Just A Dream
  3. Purgatory
  4. Travel Every Mile
  5. Heartattack & Vine
  6. Troll
  7. Gypsy Violin
  8. Shadow Never Changes
  9. Good Love
  10. Who Will Be Next
  11. So Low
  12. White Lightnin'