Duke Robillard To Release 'Independently Blue' On April 9

Robillard's latest album comes out April 9; rumors of possible gig with Dylan circulate...
  |   Comments

Blues guitar maestro Duke Robillard's latest solo album Indpendently Blue has been tapped for an April 9 release through his longtime label Stony Plain Records.

Independently Blue follows up the co-founder of the venerable Roomful Of Blues band's 2011 release Low Down & Tore Up, a collection of some of his favorite blues covers. Robillard is joined on this latest record by several longtime collaborators including Bruce Bears *piano/Hammond organ), Brad Hallen (bass) and Mark Teixeira (drums) and also has Doug Woolverton on trumpet and Bill Novick on clarinet. He also gets cameos from trumpeter Al Basile and guitarist "Monster" Mike Welch.

The 12-track set encompasses a lot of styles according to the guitarist, something he said he's excited by.

"The variety of musical styles is all part of what I am all about and the blues sensibilities within all the tracks - even when nodding to rock and roll, R&B or jazz - shows our strength as a band," he said. "The addition of Mike Welch added a blues fire to everything and I am really happy about the instant rapport Mike and I had, and what a great team we made coming up with parts for the songs."

April 9 will be a big month for Stony Plain as they'll also release a live album from the man who replaced Robillard in Roomful of Blues, Ronnie Earl. Earl's live set is titled Just For Today. Two guitar gods on one label releasing albums on the same day. I'm excited about both.

Things are heating up for Robillard beyond this upcoming album as rumors circulated this week he will be joining Bob Dylan's touring band. It would be just one more high profile gig for Robillard, who also toured with Tom Waits in addition to sustaining his own long, storied solo career.

Here's the tracklisting for Independently Blue:

  1. I Wouldn't-a Done That
  2. Below Zero
  3. Stapled To The Chicken's Back
  4. Patrol Wagon Blues
  5. Laurene
  6. Moongate
  7. I'm Still Laughing
  8. Strollin With Lowell And BB
  9. You Won't Ever
  10. This Man, This Monster
  11. Groovin' Slow
  12. If This Is Love