Gary Clark Jr. Releases Live iTunes Session, Plays David Letterman Tonight

Gary Clark Jr is the latest to record his own iTunes Session...
  |   Comments

Gary Clark Jr. is the latest artist to record an exclusive package for Apple's iTunes Music Store, the #1 music retailer in the US, as part of their iTunes Sessions series. Clark cut nine songs live in the Capitol Recording Studios in Hollywood, inlcuding several tracks from his major label debut Blak And Blu. He also mixes in two covers, one from Albert Collins and the other from Albert King. The Albert King cut "Oh Pretty Woman" (not to be confused with the more famous Roy Orbison song) comes from the blues legend's Born Under A Bad Sign LP, which was just remastered and reissued by Stax. The iTunes Session from Clark is available beginning today!

Clark should get a lot of eyeballs on him tonight when he is the musical guest on Late Show With David Letterman. Gary's warmup act on the show will be Lindsay Lohan and I have a hunch a few people are going to tune in. Stay for the headliner, boys and girls, and brainbleach the trainwreck of LiLo with some hard-stomping blues/rock from Gary and then download your copy of the new iTunes Session. Just don't tell me how good it is. Due to circumstances beyond my control, I'm going to have to wait a day or two to download my copy but bet your ass it's going to happen.

Here's the full tracklisting for iTunes Session:

  1. Next Door Neighbor Blues
  2. Aint Messin 'Round
  3. When My Train Pulls In
  4. Please Come Home                 
  5. Numb                 
  6. If Trouble Was Money (Albert Collins)   
  7. You Saved Me               
  8. Oh Pretty Woman (Albert King)        
  9. Bright Lights