JJ Grey & Mofro Set April 16 Release For 'This River'

It's album six for Florida native JJ Grey and Mofro...
  |   Comments

Southern soul rockers JJ Grey and Mofro will release their sixth studio album This River on April 16, the follow-up to their 2010 album Georgia Warhorse and 2011 live CD/DVD Brighter Days.

The 10-track effort was recorded in Florida and produced by Grey and Dan Prothero, with some work being done at Grey's own home studio. He and the band -- Andrew Trube (guitar), Anthony Farrell (organ/piano), Todd Smallie (bass), Anthony Cole (drums), Art Edmaiston (saxophone), Dennis Marion (trombone) -- cut chunks of the record live, an attempt to capture the feel of the live shows.

Grey is again in storyteller mode on This River and many of the stories on this record deal with internal struggles. 

"Many of the new songs," says Grey, "are about being your own worst enemy, and about normal folks pushing themselves over the edge."

The band have also announced the first run of tour dates to promote the new record, including a performance at the upcoming music industry conference/festival SXSW in Austin, TX.

I hadn't realized it had been so long since Georgia Warhorse, which is the record that introduced me to Grey. I've since collected the entire discography and become a fan so I'm looking forward to hearing new music. They're also playing in nearby Nashville April 13, the night before I'm scheduled to see Lianne LaHavas. I'm now thinking I need to get a hotel and see both shows that weekend having never seen either. Planning, planning, planning...

While I'm plotting, scheming, and donating blood to raise money for that little jaunt, you can check out the complete tracklisting for This River:

  1. Your Lady, She's Shady
  2. Somebody Else
  3. Tame A Wild One
  4. 99 Shades Of Crazy
  5. The Ballad Of Larry Webb
  6. Florabama
  7. Standing On The Edge
  8. Write A Letter
  9. Harp & Drums
  10. This River