Johnny Rawls To Release 'Memphis Still Got Soul' April 5

Rawls follows up his BMA-winning record...
  |   Comments

Columbia, Mississippi-native Johnny Rawls has announced the tracklisting for his new album Memphis Still Got Soul, which will be released April 5.

Memphis Still Got Soul is the follow-up to Rawls Blues Music Award-winning Ace of Spades and features 10 originals and one cover ("Blind, Crippled And Crazy). Many of the musicians who backed Rawls on Ace return for Memphis, which was recorded in Texas and Montana.

"Blind, Crippled And Crazy" was a staple in the set list of one of Rawls' mentors, O.V. Wright, with whom he toured and performed.

“When I was O.V.’s band leader, that’s the song he’d come on stage to every night and it brings back a lot of memories. I always wanted to record it.”

Rawls said his favorite track on Memphis is "Burning Bridges," a track that blends soul, blues, and funk.
"I really like the groove of it and especially the bridge," he said.

Here is the complete tracklist for Memphis Still Got Soul:

  1. Memphis Still Got Soul
  2. Blind, Crippled and Crazy
  3. Give You What You Need
  4. Take You For a Ride
  5. Stop the Rain
  6. Burning Bridges
  7. My Guitar
  8. Flying Blind
  9. Blues Woman
  10. Don’t Act So Innocent
  11. Love Stuff