Joshua Redman Preps Ballads Album 'Walking Shadows' For May 7 Release on Nonesuch

Redman covers Bach, The Beatles, and more on latest project...
  |   Comments

Jazz saxophonist Joshua Redman will release a new solo album Walking Shadows on May 7, following his exciting collaboration with Aaron Parks, Matt Penman, and Eric Harland  under the James Farm moniker. 

Joshua_Redman_2011_2_27_Portland_Jazz_Festival__4_of_12.jpgThe set was produced by frequent collaborator Brad Mehldau and is the first album of Redman's career to include an orchestral enseble. Redman is also joined by Mehldau, Larry Grenadier, and another longtime collaborator in Brian Blade. He penned a few of the songs on the 12-track record and also performs songs by Lennon-McCartney (actually more of a McCartney thing as the song in question is "Let It Be"), Bach, Hoagy Carmichael, Kern and Hammerstein, Wayne Shorter, Mehldau, and others. 

The first single from the album is one of Redman's compositions, "Final Hour," which can be downloaded free if you preorder the album from the Nonesuch web site. You can also hear the song via YouTube (posted below).

Here's the complete tracklisting for Walking Shadows:

  1. The Folks Who Live on the Hill (Jerome Kern & Oscar Hammerstein II)
  2. Lush Life (Billy Strayhorn)
  3. Stop This Train (John Mayer & Pino Palladino)
  4. Adagio (J.S. Bach)
  5. Easy Living (Leo Robin & Ralph Rainger)
  6. Doll Is Mine (Kazu Makino, Amedeo Maria Pace & Simone Maria Pace)
  7. Infant Eyes (Wayne Shorter)
  8. Let It Be (John Lennon & Paul McCartney)
  9. Final Hour (Joshua Redman)
  10. Last Glimpse of Gotham (Brad Mehldau)
  11. Stardust (Hoagy Carmichael)
  12. Let Me Down Easy (Joshua Redman)