Ryan Adams To Release 'Ashes & Fire' Oct. 11; Norah Jones Guests

Adams is joined by Norah Jones and Benmont Tench...
  |   Comments

Ryan Adams - Ashes & Fire

Ryan Adams' latest retirement is over – again or still, I can't honestly remember which at this fucking point – and he's releasing a new album titled Ashes & Fire on October 11 through his own PAX-AM label.

Who has retired more times: Ryan, Michael Jordan, or Brett Favre? We hear rumors Colts' owner Jim Irsay is in Brett's hometown with Peyton Manning's neck bothering him (my guess, it's a little too red and been stuck up his ass a little too long but that's just me and I can't see how Favre would improve matters any). I've clearly digressed.

Ashes & Fire follows up III/IV, an album recorded with his sometimes band The Cardinals.

We don't know if any Cardinals appear on the record but we have confirmation of a couple guests on the record. I'm excited by the news Benmont Tench of The Heartbreakers does some guest work on the record as Tench rarely cameos on bad records. Another pianist you may be familiar with – Norah Jones – also joins Adams on several tracks. This is not the first time the pair has teamed up. They did a duet on Adams' Jacksonville City Nights on the heartbreaking track "Dear John."

Adams is planning a West Coast tour of solo acoustic performances later this year with no further word on any additional touring. It's probably best for Adams and his fans not to think too far in advance with our boy, Ry. He tends to lose interest or get distracted. He also tends to make some amazing records and I can't wait to hear this one.

Here is the full tracklisting for Ashes & Fire

  1. Dirty Rain
  2. Ashes & Fire
  3. Come Home
  4. Rocks
  5. Do I Wait
  6. Chains Of Love
  7. Invisible Riverside
  8. Save Me
  9. Kindness
  10. Lucky Now
  11. I Love You But I Don't Know What To Say

Welcome back, Ry. Stay with us awhile. No more with the retirements. We, your buying public, may not always -- or even often -- understand you but I think we all know you're a music lifer. We're looking forward to this and whatever comes next because there will be a next...