The National - June 4, 2013 - Lupo's Heartbreak Hotel | Providence RI Setlist

The band kick off their tour in earnest...
  |   Comments

The National kicked their world tour in support of Trouble Will Find Me in full gear at the Lupo's Heartbreak Hotel in Providence Ri. They've played a few shows leading up to the release -- including one in Ithaca, NY last month -- but last night, it could be argued, was the official kickoff of and they put the new album front and center. Nine of TWFM 13 tracks were performed last night.

The new songs: "Don't Swallow The Cap," "Demons," "Sea Of Love," "This Is The Last Time," "I Need My Girl," "Pink Rabbits," "Graceless," and "I Should Live In Salt."

The older material didn't offer anything rare or surprising but the band should be given high marks for choosing the very best of the best from TWFM's predecessor High Violet. "Bloodbuzz Ohio," "Conversation 16," "Afraid of Everyone," "England," "Sorrow," and "Terrible Love."

I particularly love the sequence of "Rabbits," "England," and "Graceless." I imagine that suite holds together beautifully and hope they keep it together for awhile.

I'd like to see a few of the pre-HV songs rotated and shaken up a little and we probably will as the tour goes on. The National aren't known for re-inveting the setlist every night but they do play around with things over the course of a tour and I will be watching to see what comes, goes, and stays.

Barclays is tonight, so let's be ready!

Here is the setlist:

  1. Don't Swallow the Cap
  2. Bloodbuzz Ohio
  3. Mistaken for Strangers
  4. Demons
  5. Sea of Love
  6. Fireproof
  7. Afraid of Everyone
  8. Conversation 16
  9. Squalor Victoria
  10. This is the Last Time
  11. I Need My Girl
  12. Abel
  13. Apartment Story
  14. Pink Rabbits
  15. England
  16. Graceless
  17. About Today
  18. Fake Empire
  19. I Should Live In Salt
  20. Sorrow
  21. Mr. November
  22. Terrible Love