Springsteen Goes Epic On Night 2 At The Garden (April 9, 2012 NYC Set List)

It got off to a slow start but some heavyweight songs came out for the faithful in NYC...
  |   Comments

Bruce Springsteen - New York, NY - Madison Square Garden April 9, 2012 Set ListThis, boys and girls, is why you don't go home early when you go to a Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band show.

The first five songs of night two in the Garden were the same as night one, including the playing of "Badlands" with the house lights on. I honestly thought I was seeing an error in the Twitter feed when these rolled off like that because as unimaginative as I've accused Bruce of being with set lists in the past, surely he wouldn't do this to the same city- especially New York City.

Sure enough, we get our first tour premiere of the night after "My City Of Ruins" and it's a good one: "Spirit In The Night." I can't stress enough how much that needs to become a standard of set lists rather than- never mind. We're not going to praise this at the expense of other songs. We're going to revel in what a great song this is and how lucky the NYC fans were to hear it tonight.

"Thundercrack" and "Trapped" join the opening salvo and while both have been played a fair amount of late, they qualify as rarer fare and fan favorites. I've heard "Trapped" twice but never witnessed the playing of "Thundercrack." I hope there's a second leg of this tour and that changes. The other biggie in here is "Because The Night."

Like I said, the first five songs were the same as Night 1. Even with those three good songs I just mentioned and "Spirit" mixed in with the songs from Wrecking Ball, this set still felt a little like something we've seen a lot on this tour. Now understand me, friends, I love those songs I just mentioned and I'd take this show to this point but as a second night in the same city, I was hoping things would get a little wilder. And they did. "Backstreets." Like "Spirit," this is a tour debut. Like "Spirit," this one doesn't get played nearly often enough.

We head to the encores and "Rocky Ground" opens things and we wait to see what comes next? Another round of the Born In The USA hits "Dancing In The Dark" and "Glory Days" flanked by "Born To Run" and "Thunder Road"? Not exactly. Why don't we throw "Rosalita" into that mix?

Let's stop and think about this for a minute: "Spirit" has an extended sax solo for Jake Clemons, "Thundercrack" is an epic, "Because The Night" gives Nils Lofgren a chance to shred, "Backstreets" has an epic sense to it, and "Rosalita" is another of those long, epic numbers. The show might have gotten off to a safe, predictable start but Bruce is making the band walk that stroll to get those papers tonight!

I don't know if I can call this the set of the tour but it rivals the DC show

Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band
Madison Square Garden, New York, NY
April 9, 2012

  1. Badlands
  2. We Take Care Of Our Own
  3. Wrecking Ball
  4. Out In The Street
  5. Death To My Hometown
  6. My City Of Ruins
  7. Spirit In The Night*
  8. Thundercrack
  9. Jack Of All Trades
  10. Trapped
  11. She's The One
  12. Easy Money
  13. Waiting On A Sunny Day
  14. The Promised Land
  15. Apollo Medley
  16. Because The Night
  17. The Rising
  18. We Are Alive
  19. Backstreets*
  20. Land Of Hopes And Dreams
    ### ### ### 
  21. Rocky Ground
  22. Rosalita
  23. Born To Run
  24. Dancing In The Dark
  25. Tenth Avenue Freeze Out