The Bo-Keys Release 'Got To Get Back!' June 21

First new album in seven years...
  |   Comments

The Bo-Keys Got To Get Back!Memphis' The Bo-Keys will issue their first record in seven years when Got To Get Back! hits stores and online retailers June 21.

Seven years is a long time between records but the band is armed with 12 new songs and some heavyweight guest performers to help re-introduce themselves. Among those making cameos on the record are Blues Hall of Famer Charlie Musselwhite, Otis Clay, and Percy Wiggins.

The Bo-Keys debuted some of the new songs at a showcase at B.B. King's Blues Club in Memphis the week of the Blues Music Awards, including "Just Chillin'."

The 12-piece band features a multi-generational lineup, many of whom have had their own amazing careers since joining the band. Ben Cauley (trumpet) was the only surviving member of the crash that killed Otis Redding and the rest of his band. Baritone saxophonist Floyd Newman is the only surviving member of the BB King Orchestra other than the great King himself. Founding guitarist Charles "Skip" Pitts was Isaac Hayes guitarist for more than three decades and played on the famous soul man's "Theme From Shaft," among other great sides. Bassist Scott Bomar is the band's producer, who helmed the sessions that produced their analog, vintage debut The Royal Sessions.

The record is available for pre-order now and promises to be one of the hottest new releases of the summer. Below are the complete tracklisting and recording personnel.


  1. Hi Roller
  2. Got to Get Back (To My Baby) (featuring Otis Clay)
  3. Just Chillin’
  4. Catch This Teardrop (featuring Percy Wiggins)
  5. Jack and Ginger
  6. Sundown on Beale


  1. Weak Spot (featuring William Bell)
  2. 90 Days Same As Cash
  3. I’m Going Home featuring Charlie Musselwhite)
  4. Cauley Flower
  5. Work That Sucker featuring (Charles “Skip” Pitts)
  6. Got to Get Back (To My Baby) PT 2 (featuring Otis Clay)


The Bo-Keys are:

Scott Bomar – Bass and percussion
Charles “Skip” Pitts”- Guitar
Howard Grimes- Drums and percussion
Willie Hall- Drums and percussion on “Weak Spot”
Archie “Hubbie” Turner- Keyboard
Al Gamble – Keyboard
Marc Franklin- Trumpet
Ben Cauley- Trumpet
Kirk Smothers – Tenor and Baritone Sax
Derrick Williams- Tenor Sax
Floyd Newman – Baritone Sax
Jim Spake- Baritone Sax