Allman, Otis Taylor Tops At Blues Radio, New Ronnie Earl Debuts At #7

Top 20 albums at blues radio for the week ending April 12, 2013
  |   Comments

Ben Harper & Charlie Musselwhite's collaboration Get Up! has been unseated by Devon Allman and Otis Taylor at blues radio this past week. Harper and Musselwhite are still in the mix at #3, followed by roots master Harry Manx and Jesse Dee to round out the Top 5.

The amazing Ronnie Earl debuts at #7 with his latest live album Just For Today. Blues fans are still getting a heavy dose of Robert Cray's most recent album Nothin But Love and Shemekia Copeland's 33 1/3 while we also have Gary Clark Jr.'s Blak And Blu in the mix. Clark recently released a live set via iTunes (review forthcoming) which finds him playing both songs from his records as well as two terrific blues covers (Albert Collins and King). I also want to give a shoutout and plug to the thoroughly enjoyable new album from The Slide Brothers featuring Robert Randolph.

Tinsley Ellis' instrumental record Get It shot up the charts this week and we give a special nod to BBS contributor Joanie Hunt, whose photography adorns the liner notes of this release (review forthcoming, I swear!).

Here are the Top 20 albums at blues radio according to Roots Music Report for the week ending April 12, 2013:

  1. Devon Allman - Turquoise
  2. Otis Taylor - My World Is Gone
  3. Ben Harper With Charlie Musselwhite - Get Up!
  4. Harry Manx - Om Suite Ohm
  5. Jesse Dee - On My Mind / In My Heart
  6. Shemekia Copeland - 33 1/3
  7. Ronnie Earl & The Broadcasters - Just For Today
  8. Robert Cray Band - Nothin' But Love
  9. The Slide Brothers - Robert Randolph Presents - The Slide Brothers
  10. Hadden Sayers - Rolling Soul
  11. Gary Clark Jr. - Blak And Blu
  12. Tinsley Ellis - Get It
  13. John Lee Hooker Jr. - All Hooked Up
  14. The James Hunter Six - Minute By Minute
  15. Lee Harvey Osmond - The Folk Sinner
  16. Rob Lutes - The Bravest Birds
  17. Various Artist - First Came Memphis Minnie
  18. Eric Clapton - Old Sock
  19. Guy Forsyth - The Freedom To Fail
  20. Hans Theessink & Terry Evans - Delta Time